Accidents can happen everywhere we go, including in Airbnbs. But how do you handle an Airbnb injury? Who is responsible? Can you recover compensation? Read on to learn more about Airbnb accidents and what to do in the event of an injury.
Can I Recover Compensation for an Airbnb Injury?
Airbnb knows that accidents happen. As a result, they have their own insurance plan, called Host Protection Insurance. This plan protects Airbnb hosts by providing injured parties with up to $1 million for an accident. But, there are some events for which Airbnb will not provide coverage. These circumstances include:
- Intentional acts, such as a guest fighting with another person and sustaining an injury
- Accusations of slander or defamation of character
- Property issues, such as bed bugs, asbestos, communicable diseases, or certain other unsafe living conditions
- Auto accidents, such as car accidents occurring on the premises
If you wish to take legal action for one of these accidents, you will have to take a different route. Reach out to a personal injury attorney to determine whether your accident is covered under Airbnb’s Host Protection Plan.
How do I Recover Compensation?
An injury can take a major toll, physically, financially, and emotionally. If you are injured by another party’s negligence, you likely deserve compensation for these burdens. If you are injured in an Airbnb, you will want to seek proper medical attention. It is important that your injuries are tended to, and this will also provide you with documentation of your injuries. Additionally, you will need to provide proof that some sort of negligence occurred to cause your accident. This can include taking photos and videos of the conditions that caused your accident. If possible, you should collect the contact information of anyone who witnessed the injury occur. They may have a different perspective because they saw the accident, rather than being involved, and they can also provide witness statements. You should reach out to a skilled personal injury attorney who will fight for you to recover the compensation you deserve.
How Long do I Have to File a Claim?
If you wish to pursue legal action, you will have to file your personal injury claim within a certain amount of time. This deadline is known as a statute of limitations. In Maryland, the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim is generally three years from the date of the injury. If you do not file your claim within three years, you will likely lose your opportunity to recover compensation.
If you or a loved one has experienced an injury due to another party’s negligence, reach out to our firm today.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED MARYLAND FIRM
The legal team at Markey & Orsi has proudly represented injured clients throughout the state of Maryland for almost 30 years. If you have been injured due to another party’s negligence and require strong legal representation, contact Markey & Orsi today to schedule a consultation.